“If this isn’t nice, what is?”

For the second time in a year I found myself on the beach with some of my best friends watching two of them commit to one another for the rest of their lives. The air is warm but the breeze is cool and refreshing, and sunset is rapidly approaching. I feel myself almost overwhelmed by emotion, compassion, appreciation….and yet confusion as well.

How did I get here? What decisions led to me being exactly here, in this space and time, to witness this event? Looking back over the past couple years I made a lot of what I thought at the time were bad decisions. In retrospect they were short sided, emotionally driven, irresponsible, or just plain bad. Yet I realize if it hadn’t been for this exact combination of decisions, the good ones and the bad, then I wouldn’t be here at this moment. Maybe the moment would never happen or maybe it would simply pass me by. We just don’t know. Time is funny like that.

My friend and I used to discuss an idea that “on a long enough timeline everything usually works out.” That’s a pretty ironic and thought provoking coming from she and I with all we have been through – and yet we still believe it. I’m not saying “everything happens for a reason.” That feels cheap and a disservice to our fallen comrades and the other tragedies we’ve witnessed. Yet these events still shape our lives and, no matter what, sorrow is always eventually followed up by joy.

“When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.” – Kahlil Gibran

So here I am tonight…pant legs rolled up dangling my feet in the rooftop pool of a swanky hotel in Hollywood while sipping a fancy adult libation. Good people, good food, and good music for this joyous celebration. Sure, there will be more bad times to come, there always is (so it goes), but we must celebrate the good ones – and this my friends is a good one. Again, as I sit here, toes in the water, surrounded by friends and love,  I ask myself “If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.”

Love Always,

-J

Leave a Reply

