Alone.

“It’s your road, and yours alone. Others may walk it with you, but no one can walk it for you.” – Rumi

Well I certainly had an interesting weekend BASE jumping. I’ve been contemplating the sport pretty hard the past few months and this weekend raised more questions than answers. I woke up before sunrise today to do a jump by myself at first light. I figured no one else would be there that early with cold temps and low light. Of course these conditions are nothing to the two Canadians that showed up. While I was looking forward to a contemplative, head clearing solo jump, I thoroughly enjoyed the company and was still able to immerse myself in my own thoughts. BASE jumping is very much a personal, individual, selfish sport. We are responsible for our own decisions, lives, and consequences. These consequences however are not just our own, but how they impact others around us. I’ve never found a community quite like my BASE family. We can become instant best friends and share a bond that’s impossible to explain. Its more than just looking out for one another it’s caring and loving each other. That being said its easy to forget, that even with all this love and support, we are not walking the same path, but merely sharing moments in time where our paths are parallel. When our feet leave the ground we are truly alone. 

Leave a Reply

